Amy Manzanares


About Amy  
I am 36 years old, and work for a school district as an Educational Sign Interpreter, which means I work with deaf/hard of hearing children. I am in the classroom with the kids all day and if they are involved in after school sports I stay with them to help-which I love! I am also a certified fitness trainer. I am currently working on my Performance Enhancement Specialist certification. I would love the opportunity to work with high school athletes in their off season to prep them for their sports seasons.
I have always been involved in sports. I played volleyball, ran track and was involved in cheer/dance in high school. In college I was a dancer. After college I continued to be active and searched for competitive venues. In 2005, I became interested in fitness and met with trainer to get things going. At that time, I needed guidance in getting back into shape after a serious car accident shattered my ankle. Since then the journey has been arduous but so worth it. I find that one of the largest rewards is the opportunity to share my story and inspire others to be the best they can be whether they compete or not.

I have been married to my husband Matt for 10 years and we have 2 dogs.
I have an identical twin sister, Jamy who is in the army and I also have a younger brother and sister. Our parents are deaf and ASL is our 1st language. :)

What do you like best about competing:
I love seeing the improvements I've made from show to show. I also love meeting other women who share the same passion as I do. It's so much fun listening to everyone's stories about how they made their way to the stage and what they do off stage.

Why did you begin competing?
I have been involved in sports since I was little. I was involved in volleyball, cheer/dance and track through high school. In college I was on the dance team and when that was over I still had the drive to compete and perform. Originally I wanted to do Fitness because of my dance background but felt that since I had no gymnastics that Figure would be a better fit. I was introduced to the right people who could introduce me into the world of bodybuilding and I have been hooked since then.

Whats your favorite cheat food?
peanut butter everything!

favorite diet food?
oatmeal

favorite bodypart to train?
legs and shoulders!! There's nothing better than a shoulder pump or feeling like you can hardly walk because you just smoked your legs!

Least favorite?
chest/bis

What are some of your Hobbies?
I love being outside hiking and cruising around in the Arctic Cat with my husband. Or just hanging at home reading or watching movies.  And I truly just love being in the gym!

What are Words you live by?
good, better, best,  never let it rest, til your good is better and your better is best.

Whats some Competition info you can give us?
Off season wt: 125
On season 110-115
I really try to not weigh myself through my prep because numbers can be deceiving! :)

Here are my fitness accomplishments:
2006 NPC Mile High Figure 2nd place
2007 NPC Natural Colorado figure 3rd place
2008 NPC Mile High Figure 5th place
2010 NPC TopForm Classic top 10
2010 NPC Mile High Bikini 9th place
2010 Bodybuilding.com Amateur Athlete of the Week (July)
2011 NPC Mile High Figure 1st place
2012 NPC Colorado State Figure1st place
2012 OXYGEN Magazine Success Story (November Issue)
2013 NPC Colorado State Figure Masters (35-39)-2nd, Figure class A-2nd
2014 NPC USA Figure class B-14th
2014 NPC Rocky Mountain Figure Masters (35-39)-1st, Figure class A-1st

I plan to compete again at Junior Nationals in June this year.

Be sure to follow Amy everywhere!


newsletter

E-NEWSLETTER SIGN UP
Get promo codes & stay in the loop!

facebook

LET'S BE FRIENDS

Join the Boli Nutrition community. Post your progress, enter contests and get great deals. Come on. You know you want to.

 
 
 
sponsorship

SEEKING SPONSORSHIP?

Join our team of sponsored athletes!
Shoot us a message for more information.

@bolinutrition

/bolinutrition